skip to Main Content

Kim Salzer Wins CLIC User Service Award

We are pleased to announce that Kim Salzer of Hamline University Library and Archives is the winner of the 2018 CLIC User Service Award.  Kim has served on many CLIC committees, COIs, and task forces during her 15 years working at Hamline University, first in the Law Library and then in Bush Library. At CLIC, she has been a member of  Acquisitions, Circulation, Batch Loading, Resource Sharing Task Force, Reserves, Cataloging, Authority Control, and most recently, the Interlibrary Loan Group, among others.

Kim is always willing to lend a hand to help others in the consortium. CLIC colleagues are appreciative of Kim’s eye for detail, smart spreadsheets, fabulous documentation, and her thoughtful conversation and contributions.  Kim is a hard worker who can be counted on to get things done and keep things in order. Her contributions shine from all the hard work she puts into her job on a daily basis. Her work in Hamline’s Resource and Acquisition Management Department helps patrons at all our libraries locate well maintained records and collections that serve all CLIC members. All CLIC libraries are fortunate to call her one of our own: Hamline wishes they could clone Kim, and other CLIC members wish they could steal her away!

Congratulations, Kim! You are well-deserving of the CLIC User Service Award.


The Research & Instruction COI won the Group Effectiveness Award for their amazing, collaborative work on the 2018 Unconference on Reimagining the Academic Library. COI members awarded this honor include: Bethel – Earleen Warner, Scott Kaihoi, Serena Giese; Concordia – Nathan Rinne; Hamline – Kristofer Scheid, Kimberly Feilmeyer; Northwestern – Jessica Moore; St. Kate’s – Lizzy Tegeler, Sue Gray; and UST – Talia Nadir, Marianne Hageman, Trent Brager.

After the “Year of Reimagining the Academic Library” was announced in the fall of 2017, the Research & Instruction COI volunteered to lead a project to engage CLIC member library staff in reading and discussing David Lewis’ book. The COI’s project consisted of three steps: (1) encouraging CLIC member library staff to read the book, including setting up a message board for discussion, (2) planning and conducting an Unconference based on the book topics, and (3) following up the Unconference with presentations at the CLIC Annual Conference and the Minnesota Library Association Annual Conference.

The Unconference was highly successful, with more than 60 people in attendance, including a number from institutions outside of CLIC. The COI collected the documentation from the Unconference and made it available to all of CLIC via Google Drive. This documentation was also shared with keynote presenter David Lewis, who incorporated it into his program at CLIC’s Annual Conference. Members of the COI also presented at CLIC’s Conference and at MLA in the fall of 2018.

The Unconference was a success due to the innovation, creativity, organization, and collaborative work of the COI, and we applaud the COI’s willingness and inventiveness in trying new things. This was the first time for CLIC to host an Unconference, and the COI did wonders in organizing the event, even though many were unfamiliar with the format going into the project. The COI also branched out with their creative, eye-catching marketing messages. Their marketing campaign served both to boost attendance at the Unconference and to ignite lively conversation among member library staff about reimagining the future of academic libraries.

CLIC courier James Peterson was given an honorary award to recognize his many years of consistently reliable and friendly service to CLIC member libraries.

James’ positive energy and strong work ethic serve to strengthen the connections between CLIC libraries.


Kao Kalia Yang, author of The Latehomecomer, was our fabulous luncheon speaker. Kalia touched our hearts with a fantastic, poetic, and inspiring talk interspersed with readings from her books. She stayed to sign books and chat with members after her presentation.




And finally, a big thank you to Maureen Fitzgerald of CLIC and Ruth McGuire of University of Northwestern-St. Paul for their amazing work on local arrangements to create a festive atmosphere for our annual awards event. Thank you, too, to Karen Batdorf of UST for her generous onsite help every year!

Back To Top
×Close search